library-banner.jpg

Family History

Photograph of a family picnic at Bobbin Head in 1909
Family picnic at Bobbin Head 1909

Genealogical resources


Family History Websites

We’ve gathered together a range of websites that will help you research your genealogy. The Australian Family History pages and the International Family History pages have been grouped together, while below are some very useful and popular genealogical websites which will get you started tracing your ancestors from around the world.

Ancestry.com (Library Edition) In library

Find my Past (Library Edition) In library

My Heritage (Library Edition) In library | At home

Family Search The largest collection of free family history records in the world.

Coraweb An excellent family history gateway site for tracing your family tree.

Cyndi's List A categorised and cross-referenced index to online genealogical resources.

Ancestor Search An interactive directory of the best free genealogy databases.

ObituariesHelp.org Download free printable family trees templates, as well as accessing general family history information.



Family History Resources

Hornsby Library’s Family History resources include:

  • Genealogical books, magazines and newsletters
  • Australian birth, death and marriage indexes
  • Census and electoral roll information for Australia
  • Sands residential and business directories
  • Passenger and shipping records
  • Colonial Secretary's record
  • NSW probate index


Family History Talks

Hornsby Library hosts a range of very popular family history talks throughout the year.



Family History Group

The Hornsby Shire Family History Group meets at Hornsby Library on the third Wednesday of each month between 2pm - 4pm. Research Gatherings are held at Hornsby Library on the fourth Wednesday of each month between 10am - 12 noon. All welcome.

Monthly Meetings (2pm to 4pm)

  • Wednesday March 16
  • Wednesday April 20
  • Tuesday May 17
  • Wednesday June 15
  • Wednesday July 20
  • Geneagala Day Saturday August 13
  • August- No Monthly Meeting
  • Wednesday September 21
  • Wednesday October 19
  • Wednesday November 16
  • Wednesday December 14

Research Gatherings (10am to 12 noon)

  • Wednesday March 23
  • Wednesday April 27
  • Wednesday May 25
  • Wednesday June 22
  • Wednesday July 27
  • Wednesday August 24
  • Wednesday September 28
  • Wednesday October 26
  • Wednesday November 23


Family History Volunteers

A range of experienced volunteers are happy to help you research your family’s past. Bookings are essential as places are limited. Phone 9847 6614 or email library@hornsby.nsw.gov.au.

All volunteers are unavailable until further notice.