Hawkesbury-Nepean CMP

Hornsby Shire Council is leading a partnership with the other five Councils that have management responsibility of land and coastline along the river, to prepare a Coastal Management Program (CMP) for the Hawkesbury-Nepean River System. The project covers the area of estuary between Yarramundi (the tidal limit of the river) to the estuary entrance between Box Head and Barrenjoey Head and includes Brisbane Water, Broken Bay and Pittwater.

Our partnering councils are: Hawkesbury City Council, The Hills Shire Council, Central Coast Council, Ku-ring-gai Council and Northern Beaches Council. Having the six Councils working together on this project means we can use an integrated approach to manage the Hawkesbury estuary/river on issues that cross jurisdictional boundaries.

The CMP will set out the long-term strategy for the coordinated management of the coastal zone along the Hawkesbury including its creeks, lagoons, littoral rainforests, wetlands, beaches and associated catchments. The program will focus on achieving coastal management objectives at a local level whilst, also achieving the objectives of the NSW Coastal Management framework.

The CMP will provide:

  • an opportunity for councils, public authorities and local communities to identify and balance competing interests and priorities in the coastal zone
  • implement NSW government guidelines for coastal management
  • provide recommendations for the future management of the Hawkesbury-Nepean River system
  • The CMP will guide how issues will be dealt with, who is responsible, where funding will come from and when actions will be undertaken.

In March 2023, the project received additional funding that will assist CMP development process over Stages 3-4. To access the latest information about the CMP progress and all the planned stakeholder and community engagement activities, please visit our CMP website. You can also be kept informed about the CMP by registering your interest.

Useful links