Lower Hawkesbury Estuary Management Committee meetings

Lower Hawkesbury Estuary management committee meetings

Hornsby Shire Council is currently working towards the development of a Scoping Study as the first stage in the preparation of the Hawkesbury River System Coastal Management Program (CMP). The Scoping Study must be prepared in accordance with the requirements of the Coastal Management Act 2016 (CM Act), the State Environmental Planning Policy (Coastal Management) 2017 (CM SEPP) and the NSW Coastal Management Manual.

Six Councils along the Hawkesbury River System have come to the agreement of partnering in the development of the Hawkesbury River System Scoping Study. The lead agency for this engagement is Hornsby Shire Council. Partnering Councils area: Hawkesbury City Council, The Hills Shire Council, Central Coast Council, Ku-ring-gai Council and Northern Beaches Council. The area considered for the Scoping Study is between Yarramundi to the estuary entrance between Box Head and Barrenjoey Head including Pittwater, Patonga and Brisbane Waters.

The Lower Hawkesbury Estuary Management Plan Committee has been overseeing the implementation of the Lower Hawkesbury Estuary Management Plan between 2008-2019. The committee will continue to play a key role in the development of the Hawkesbury River System CMP. Meetings will be organised in a needs-based during 2019/20.

Meetings for 2020

  • 8 December 2020

Minutes from past meetings