IHAP Meetings

Hornsby Shire Council Planning Panel

The NSW government has mandated that all Council’s in NSW have to have Independent Hearing Assessment Panels (IHAPs) in place by 1 March 2018.

The Hornsby Shire Council IHAP was constituted by the Minister Planning on 1 March 2018. The panel comprises qualified people independent of Council that have the functions of a Council as a consent authority under Part 4 to determine a range of development applications.

Elected Councillors no longer decide the outcome of individual development applications and are instead referred to the IHAP for consideration and determination. Council officers still assess the planning proposal and then report to the IHAP. The panel reviews the planning proposal and the officer’s assessment and makes a recommendation to the Council.

IHAP inspects a site prior to determination of the application and provides a transparent forum for applicants and objectors to make verbal submissions.

All decisions made by the Panel are final.

Applications Determined by the Panel

1. Development for which the applicant or land owner is:

(a) the council,

(b) a councillor,

(c) a member of council staff who is principally involved in the exercise of council's functions under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979,

(d) a member of Parliament (either the Parliament of New South Wales or Parliament of the Commonwealth), or

(e) a relative (within the meaning of the Local Government Act 1993) of a person referred to in (b) to (d).

but not development for the following purposes:

(a) internal alterations and additions to any building that is not a heritage item,

(b) advertising signage,

(c) maintenance and restoration of a heritage item, or

(d) minor building structures projecting from the building facade over public land (such as awnings, verandas, bay windows, flagpoles, pipes and services, and sun shading devices).

2. Contentious development

Development that:

(a) in the case of a council having an approved submissions policy - is the subject

of the number of submissions set by that policy, or

(b) in any other case - is the subject of 10 or more unique submissions by way of


3. Departure from development standards

(a) Development that contravenes a development standard imposed by an environmental planning instrument by more than 10% or non-numerical development standards.

4. Sensitive development

(a) Designated development.

(b) Development to which State Environmental Planning Policy No 65 – Design Quality of Residential Apartment Development applies.

(c) Development involving the demolition of a heritage item.

(d) Development for the purposes of new licenced premises, that will require one of the following liquor licences:

  • (i) a club licence under the Registered Clubs Act 1976,
  • (ii) a hotel (general bar) licence under the Liquor Act 2007, or
  • (iii) an on-premises licence for public entertainment venues under the Liquor Act 2007.

(e) Development for the purpose of sex services premises and restricted premises.

(f) Development applications for which the developer has offered to enter into a planning agreement.

Panel meeting dates

Meetings are generally held on the fourth Wednesday of the month. Meetings dates and times may change due to public holidays and depending on the number of items to be considered.

The agenda will be made available 7 days prior to the meeting. On-site inspections may be carried out on the day of the Panel meeting so Panel members can acquaint themselves with the site and relevant issues. Inspections are not open to the general public. Council staff will be available to the Panel during inspections and meetings to answer questions and clarify issues.

Meeting Dates for 2018 

28 March 2018
Council Chambers - 296 Peats Ferry Road, Hornsby. The Panel determination meeting will commence at 6.30pm.

Future dates to be advised.


Addressing the Panel

Members of the public wishing to address the Panel regarding an agenda item must register by 12 noon on the day prior to the Panel meeting (excluding weekends and public holidays). To register contact Council’s Administration Support Officer by phone on 02 9847 6788 or email ihap@hornsby.nsw.gov.au

Registered speakers must have already lodged a written submission on the Development Application (DA) they wish to address or must provide a brief written summary no greater than one A4 page, outlining the issues they wish to raise to the Panel Coordinator by 12 noon on the day prior to the meeting (excluding weekends and public holidays).

All speakers (objector, applicant or supporter) addressing the Panel may not speak for more than 3 minutes in respect of any one matter before any particular meeting, unless the Panel otherwise permits. The Chairperson opens the meeting and introduces the Panel members. The order of business is set out in the agenda. Copies of the agenda will be available at the meeting and on Council’s website 7 days prior to the meeting. As each item is referred to, the objectors are invited to speak for 3 minutes. The applicant will then be invited to respond. The Panel members may ask questions of the addressees. It is not necessary to repeat information already provided in the report to the Panel. Once all speakers have addressed the Panel on the item, the Panel will deliberate and determine each item. The Panel may adjourn to deliberate if they feel it necessary.


Determinations and any relevant decision of the Panel shall be made by a majority vote and is recorded for the public record. Minutes will generally be available on Council's website as soon as possible following the meeting.

Panel Members

The Panel consists of four members, drawn from a 'pool' of members. Each panel will include a Chairperson; two experts with experience and qualifications in law, architecture, planning, arboriculture, environmental planning, or governance and public administration; and one community representative who has experience in the same or similar fields to the expert members.

Panel members include:


Garry Fielding

Technical Expert Members

  • Juliet Grant
  • Linda McClure


  • Garry Fielding
  • Steven Layman
  • Mary-Lynne Taylor

Community Representatives

  • Tony Jones (A Ward)
  • Jerome Cox (B Ward)
  • Barbra Wynn (C Ward)


  • John Filocamo

All members of the Panel are bound by the Panel Code of Conduct.