Hornsby Art Prize 2014

The Hornsby Art Prize is an annual art award and exhibition sponsored by Hornsby Shire Council and delivered in partnership with the Hornsby Art Society. The Prize is open to artists from all over Australia and its goals are:

  • To encourage artists to aspire to excellence and,
  • Position the work of Hornsby Shire artists within the wider context of the Australian contemporary art environment

In 2014, there are four different entry categories; including Painting, Drawing, Printmaking and Sculpture. The major prize is worth $5000 cash and is sponsored by Hornsby Shire Council. The winning work will be permanently acquired by Hornsby Shire Council.

 

Important dates for the 2014 Hornsby Art Prize:

Friday 01 August
Entries open
Friday 3 October Entries close
Thursday 16 October entries to judges
Monday 27 October last day for judges to respond
Friday 31 October Artists informed of inclusion in the exhibition, providing two weeks advanced notice to submit works
Friday 14 November Drop off for artworks
Sunday 16 November Drop off for artworks
Thursday 20 November Sunday 30 November - Exhibition is open to the public
Saturday 22 November Exhibition award night, from 6:00pm
Sunday 30 November Exhibition closes - bump out 5pm-8pm
Monday 01 December Courier collection

 

This web page will be updated in late July in anticipation of competition open date. Please contact Council’s Arts/Cultural Development Officer on 9847 6893 for more information.

2013 Hornsby Art Prize