Pictures of the Presidents or Mayors of Hornsby Shire

A selection of photographs of the Shire Presidents or Mayors of Hornsby Shire.


John Charles Hunt (1856–1930), an orchardist, was Shire President of the first elected Hornsby Shire Council in 1906. He served as a councillor until 1908 and was the Liberal member of parliament for Sherbrook until 1920.

President Dec 1906 – Oct 1907


William Mark Nixon ,an architect, was an inaugural Hornsby Shire Councillor (1906-11)and was Shire President 1908-09, he designed the Council Chambers and St Peter's Church, Hornsby.


Lord Livingstone Ramsay (1860-1924), an architect, was a Hornsby Shire Councillor 1908-22 and was Shire President 1910-13.


John Adam Schwebel (d.1935) The son of an Austrian immigrant, Schwebel was a Glenorie orchardist who served on Hornsby Shire Council 1908-1917. He became the fourth Shire President, serving in 1914 and 1915.


Paul A James (d.1934) was a Hornsby Shire Councillor, 1914-1934 and the Shire President 12 times between 1916 and 1931. He was also a prominent businessman, owning a saw mill in Jersey Street, Hornsby.


Richard Allen, was a conveyancer from Normanhurst who served on Council from 1920 to 1925. He focussed on improving sporting facilities and was responsible for the establishment of Normanhurst Park.


Frank Chapman, a surveyor, was a Hornsby Shire Councillor 1915-37 and Shire President in 1921 an 1928. Chapman Avenue, Beecroft, was named after him


Thomas Ernest Rofe (1869-1945) was a Hornsby Shire Councillor 1927-44, Shire President in 1932. A solicitor and prominent philanthropist, he was the founding patron of Hornsby Hospital.


Sidney Albert Storey (1896-1966) was a Hornsby Shire Councillor 1932-66, Shire President six times, and Liberal MP for the state seat of Hornsby 1941-62. Storey Park is named after him.

Percy Cooper Law (1870-1957) was a Hornsby Shire Councillor 1925-48 and Shire President in 1935. He was known as the 'father of good footpaths' for spearheading the use of unemployed workers to lay pavements during the Great Depression.


Charles H. Somerville (1885–1967) was the youngest son of James Somerville and Deborah (nee Laws). Charles married Gladys Mattingley and became Managing Director of Somerville's in 1937. Charles later became a Councillor on Hornsby Shire Council and served a total of 33 years, of which he served ten as Shire President.


George H Vaughan , was a Councillor 1937-1950. His father, George A Vaughan, had been a Councillor before him. As Shire President during the Second World War, he led fundraising efforts to support the troops.


Joseph Lindsay ('Lin') Green, lived in Epping and was the founder of Greenseas canned fish company. His time on Council was brief due to international business commitments.


Harold George Headen , a city Warehouseman, was a Hornsby Shire Councillor between 1948 and 1962 (discontinuously) and was elected Shire President 1954-60. Headen Park is named after him.


Maxwell Stanley Ruddock (1914-1976), an accountant, was a local Councillor 1953-65, Shire President in 1961, and Liberal MLA for the Hills 1962-76. His son Phillip Ruddock represents the Berowra federal electorate.


Donald Tulloch, was a businessman from Epping, whose election to Council in 1959 was supported by the Epping Progress Association. He brought an entrepreneurial approach to the challenges of a rapidly growing population.


Gordon Spowart Curby (d.2007) was a Hornsby Shire Councillor from 1965 to 1987 and Shire President 1968-1972, 1977-1978, and 1986-1987.


Donald Evans, lived in Beecroft and worked as an engineer for Formica in Thornleigh. He served on the Council from 1965 to 1983 and was a driving force behind the construction of the Comenarra Parkway and the Northgate Shopping Centre.


Ronald James Payne, Naval Officer, was a Hornsby Shire Councillor 1968-91 and Shire President 1984-86.


Lindsey Brown, a Normanhurst engineer with extensive experience in local government, served on Council 1987-1991, including one term as Shire President.


Brian Carey, was a Glenorie resident with a background in journalism and public relations who was elected to Council in 1987 under the banner of the Hornsby Districhet Residents and Ratepayers Association.


Nan Horne, served on Council from 1987, bowing out at the 2008 election. Living in Cherrybrook since 1962, Cr Horne worked as a teacher until her retirement in 1980.

Steven Pringle, became Hornsby Shire’s first Mayor when the title was changed from Shire President in 1993. A naval officer, he served on Council from 1987 to 2004. Subsequently he served in State Parliament as member for Hawkesbury.

Chris Meany, a Thornleigh vet, served on Council 1977-80 and 1991-95, including one term as Mayor. He was actively involved in tourism and environmental issues.

Mick Gallagher, served on Council from 1991 to 1995. A Vietnam War veteran, he is well known as a local activist and entertainer.


John Muirhead, a resident of Berowra, served on Council from 1995 to 2004 and was elected Mayor five times.

Robert Browne, served on Council from 1999 to 2004 and was re-elected in February 2007. A businessman with a background in banking and accountancy, he was mayor from 1999 to 2000.

Nick Berman, became the first popularly elected Mayor in 2004, having served on Council since 1999. A businessman with a keen interest in sport, Cr Berman previously worked as a Federal electorate officer.