Wards and Boundaries

Wards and boundaries

Up until May 2016, the Hornsby Shire Council area covered approximately 510 square kilometres, including 6,000 hectares of public bushland for which Council was responsible. The Shire extended from Brooklyn in the north, to Wisemans Ferry and Glenorie/Dural in the west, Wahroonga in the east and Epping in the south.

In May 2016 the NSW Government transferred the former Hornsby Shire Council area south of the M2 Motorway to the City of Parramatta Council and abolished Hornsby’s then existing three-ward structure.

​​​​By proclamation on 23 January 2017, the State Government established a new three ward structure for the Hornsby Shire Council area which took effect from the 9 September 2017​ Council election.​ A map showing the new ward boundaries is available here.

To check which Ward a particular property is in, type the address into our Property Search function. The relevant Ward will be displayed in the summary information at the top of the page.

See also Local Government Reform webpage.